I’m Writing a Story

Hey, how are you doing? I hope you’ve gotten some time to enjoy the return of the sun. Is that a new haircut? It looks nice on you, you should keep it.

With finals over and a bright, eventful summer on the horizon, I have finally gotten around to working on a short story that I started writing last year. The premise and overall plot are, for the moment, things I’d call “spoilers,”  but there is one thing I can share.

This gorgeous image is the main inspiration for where the story begins.

Viala.png

Artistic Credit goes to the wonderful Jane White. You can see more of her artwork here.

Without going into too much detail, the girl in the picture is named Viala, and has lived her whole life on a large remote island that no one has left in a long time (it’s sci fi so braving the endless sea is not as simple as getting a sturdy raft and a picnic blanket on a big stick, of course). Her people hid there long ago to protect themselves from a conflict they refused to take sides in. No one knows what has happened beyond their borders since, and her people don’t approve of those who abandon their families and home to go exploring.

There’s a galaxy just beyond their shores, and Viala is dying to see it. This internal and external struggle sets up the events that come after she finally makes her choice on whether or not to leave.

Sometimes Viala just needs to get away from that constant friction, and this cliffside is where she goes to find herself, to be free, if only for a time.

There will be love and loss, troubling friends and troubled enemies, and tons of lasers. There is plenty more coming, and I am so excited to share it with you.

As I write more, I’ll post a chapter at a time here. I have no timetable for when they’ll come out, so stay tuned for more. As always, keep your head up and your feet on the ground, and I’ll see you soon.

 

But seriously, keep the hairstyle, it suits you.

About Ataraxia Rex

I'm a writer and a listener, friend and advocate for the devil, a guardian and a spartan. I love to read, write, and arithmetic, play and talk about video games, and discuss the universe. Join me! This space is as much mine as it is yours.
This entry was posted in Story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

