Welcome!

¡Bienvenidos a todos! It’s wonderful to have you, I hope you enjoy your stay.

As a writer, there’s little I enjoy more than a good story, woven into a complex yet relatable web of sorrow and redemption, romance and betrayal, and lasers. Unfortunately, a blog isn’t really the place for any of those things. It is, however, a perfect place to talk about them (especially the romance and lasers).

I guess this is where I’m supposed to wax inspirational about the future of this blog and my hopes and dreams for this space, what I want to post and how I’ll entice you to come back. Let me take a crack at it:

Why are you here?

IMG_7730
Contemplate the question as you stare into my old view of downtown Seattle.

I don’t mean on this page (although I’d be curious to hear that answer as well), I mean wherever you are right now. Physically, emotionally, in your life, job, or relationship. How did you get here, where are you going, and what does “here” mean to you? This is a question that’s been on my mind a lot recently. Everyone is on their own path, and where they are right now is only a step on their way to something greater. 

I’ve asked a lot of people that question, hoping for some insight into how they live their lives and how they got to be where they are. Some say that they’re stuck waiting for things to improve so that they can move on with their lives, others are on a clear path towards exactly what they want, and a few can’t even see where they’re going. 

It’s a simple question, but when people get into their answers, they find themselves talking about so much more than the brick and mortar around them (yes, even the people I ask in Taco Del Mar). “Here” is just the current chapter of the story they’re etching into the world with every stride they take. Everybody wants something, and in the struggle to achieve it, people’s lives take on meaning.

It’s a beautiful thing, that the Meaning of Life™ can be tailored to the individual. Personally, I enjoy listening to people talk about something they love; there’s a special way our voices and body language change when we really, truly care about a subject. Everyone has a story to tell and a perspective to share, and I try my best to learn from everyone that I meet. Even hobos sleeping on the street know things that I don’t. Probably.

As such, my hope for this blog is to explore the meaning and importance behind different kinds of stories, and to share those stories with you. I’ll be posting critical analyses and reviews of movies, books, and video games, and also I’ll be sharing stories and poems that I’ve written. There might even be some opinion pieces and other assorted goodies to look forward to.

Honestly, though, the most important part of what I’ll be posting is the chance for discussion. I’ll have my opinions, you’ll have yours. I’d love to hear what you have to say. 

Anyway, that’s about all I’ve got for now. I’ve got some So Cal business (read: relaxing in the sun) to attend to before I head back to the wet mess that is Seattle in April. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with a quote from my favorite TV show:

“We’re all stories, in the end. Just make it a good one, eh?” ~Doctor Who

 

So, look around you. 

Why are you here?

Leave a comment